Last updated: 11/30/2021
Sanibel, Florida
Street Address
3075 Sanibel-Captiva Road
Sanibel, FL 33957
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 1580
Sanibel, FL 33957
phone: 239-395-2233
fax: 239-395-6706
e-mail: shell@shellmuseum.org
web: www.shellmuseum.org
Hours
Daily10 AM - 5 PM
Admissions
Adults $9
Youth 5-16 $5
Children 4 & under free
Seniors: $10
AAA: $10
AARP: $10
Museum Type(s)
Services
Gift Shop
Group Tours
Staff
Sam Ankerson, Executive Director
Dr. José H. Leal, Curator
Stephanie Muddell, Communications Director
Ryann Powell, Director of Finance and Operations
Description

More than thirty-five exhibits display world-wide shells, with special focus on Southwest Florida shells. Acclaimed video Mollusks in Action is shown five times daily. Store offers books and shell-motif gift items. Daily programming and demonstrations. See website for details.

Mission

The dissemination of information on Mollusks through exhibits, educational programs, library and publications.

Research Collections

The Bailey-Matthews Shell Museum, a specialized natural history museum, is a collecting museum. Its collection of shells and preserved specimens represents a large fraction of the global biodiversity of mollusks. The Museum houses a collection of worldwide and local mollusks that encompasses about 150,000 lots. The collection is expanding, with a growing focus on mollusks from the coast of southwest Florida, its barrier islands, and the Gulf of Mexico. The increasingly regional nature of the collection has attracted a large number of national and international students and scientists who visit the Museum to examine specimens in their fields of expertise. Records of our holdings are managed through a database management system and searches of the collection may be performed online.

Educational Programs

Volunteer docents assist museum visitors on their self-guided tours. The museum offers special programs and tours to groups of all ages from schoolchildren to Elderhostels. The Museum offers a discounted admission price for tours by groups of ten or more persons. The unique guided tour consists of a slide presentation on the lifestyles of mollusks, and a hands-on display of Southwest Florida shells. Also highlighted are certain exhibits in the Great Hall of Shells, including live mollusks. Reservations are required.

  • Daily Beach Walks with Museum Master Marine Bioglist
  • Daily Programming at 2pm - See website for schedule
  • Twice-Daily Live Tank demonstrations featuring local mollusks in an 8-foot long clear tank.
  • Weekly Adventure Cruise with Master Marine Biologist aboard a 24 passenger catamaran.
Governance

Private Non-Profit

Library

Access: General Public, Students, Scholars

Appointment required: Yes

Publications

Scientific journal, "The Nautilus", published quarterly.
Newsletter "Shell Museum News", published quarterly.

  • The Nautilus
  • Shell Museum News
  • ADA

    Wheelchair Accessible

    Services

    Gift Shop

    Group Tours

    This information, including business hours, addresses and contact information is provided for general reference purposes only. No representation is made or warranty is given as to its content or the reliability thereof. User assumes all risk of use. Stories USA, Inc. and its content suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use. Please call ahead to verify the dates, the location and directions.
    THANK YOU 2022 SPONSORS!
    West Grove, Pennsylvania

    Creators of custom / personalized made-in-USA products for museum stores. Your products are unique and exclusive to your store. Free setup and design. Free samples. Interactive design tools available on our website for buyers to mock up ideas. Products include bookmarks, magnets, mugs, glass paperweights, coasters, mousepads, aprons, puzzles, postcards, holiday ornaments, rulers, t-shirts tote bags, more

    MUSEUM CONFERENCES
    Saturday, March 5 - Tuesday, March 8, 2022 — Richmond, Virginia
    Virginia Association of Museums Annual Conference 2022
    Richmond, Virginia
    Sunday, March 6 - Thursday, March 10, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
    2022 Public Land Alliance Convention and Trade Show
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Wednesday, March 16 - Friday, March 18, 2022 — Kingsport, Tennessee
    Tennessee Association of Museums 2022 Annual Conference
    Kingsport, Tennessee
    Tuesday, March 22 - Friday, March 25, 2022 — Waco, Texas
    Texas Association of Museums 2022 - Growing Together: Tackling The Challenges Of Today & Tomorrow
    Waco, Texas
    Thursday, April 7 - Saturday, April 9, 2022 — Point Pleasant, West Virginia
    West Virginia Association of Museums 2022 Conference
    Point Pleasant, West Virginia
    Sunday, April 24 - Tuesday, April 26, 2022 — Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
    PA Museums’ 2022 Conference
    Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
    Sunday, May 15 - Saturday, May 28, 2022 — Statesboro, Georgia
    Center of Excellence Tick Workshop 2022
    Statesboro, Georgia
    Monday, May 16 - Wednesday, May 18, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
    InterActivity 2022: Play The Long Game -Association of Children's Museums
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Thursday, May 19 - Sunday, May 22, 2022 — Slinger, Wisconsin
    2022 Fire Museum Seminar
    Slinger, Wisconsin
    Sunday, June 19 - Wednesday, June 22, 2022 — Golden, Colorado
    2022 Country School Association of America Conference
    Golden, Colorado
    Thursday, June 23 - Tuesday, June 28, 2022 — Tacoma, Washington
    ALHFAM 2022 CONFERENCE & ANNUAL MEETING
    Tacoma, Washington
    Monday, August 1 - Friday, August 5, 2022 — Owings Mills, Maryland
    ASSOCIATION OF NATURE CENTER ADMINISTRATORS 2022 ANNUAL SUMMIT
    Owings Mills, Maryland
    Wednesday, September 14 - Friday, September 16, 2022 — Enid, Oklahoma
    2022 Oklahoma Museum Conference
    Enid, Oklahoma
    Wednesday, September 14 - Saturday, September 17, 2022 — Buffalo, New York
    American Association for State and Local History 2022 On-site and Virual Conferences
    Buffalo, New York
    Thursday, October 6 - Sunday, October 9, 2022 — Portland, Oregon
    2022 Oregon Annual Conference, co-hosted with Western Museums Association
    Portland, Oregon
    Monday, October 24 - Wednesday, October 26, 2022 — Rogers, Arkansas
    SouthEastern Museum Conference 2022 ANNUAL MEETING
    Rogers, Arkansas
    Tuesday, October 25 - Thursday, October 27, 2022 — Temecula, California
    2022 International Conference of Indigenous Archives, Libraries, and Museums
    Temecula, California