Last updated: 2/11/2014
Durham, North Carolina
Street Address
4409 Bennett Memorial Road
Durham, NC 27705
Mailing Address
4409 Bennett Memorial Road
Durham, NC 27705
Hours
Tuesday - Saturday9 AM - 5 PM
Sunday - Mondayclosed
Closed Most Major Holidays. Open on weekends during special events. Please see our calendar of events.
Admissions
No admission fees. Donations are accepted and appreciated.
Special Events-Charged
Services
Gift Shop
Online Gift Shop
Special Event Rental
Group Tours
Staff
John Guss, Site Manager
phone: 919-383-4345
Diane Smith, Historic Interpreter II
phone: 919-383-4345
History

Here, on April 26, 1865, Confederate General Joseph E. Johnston and Union General William T. Sherman met to discuss the surrender terms of what would become the largest surrender of the American Civil War. More than 90,000 Confederate soldiers of Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, and North Carolina surrendered. Bennett Place features the reconstructed farmhouse and outbuildings, a visitor center with exhibits, an interpretive film, research library, gift shop, and living history programs.

Artifact Collections

Personal affects of the Bennett Family as well as military and civilian artifacts of the American Civil War.

Research Collections

Everett-Thissen Research Library, which contains more than 1,500 books, magazines, newspapers, manuscripts, and DVDs.

Educational Programs

Outreach educational programs-Lectures and living history demonstrations. Also special events such as:

  • Surrender Anniversary Living History each April
  • Memorial Day Remembrance Living History each May
  • Tar Heel Fair & Farmer's Market each September/October
  • Christmas in the Carolinas During the Civil War Living History each December
  • Soldiers of the Old North State Living History
Facilities

Bennett Farm (Reconstructed on original site) along the original Hillsboro Road that Sherman and Johnston traveled.

Visitor Center which include museum exhibit gallery, theater, research library, gift shop.

Governance

North Carolina State Historic Site

Library

Access: General Public, Students, Scholars, Members

Appointment required: Yes

Publications

  • Bennett Place Courier-Newsletter
  • Bennett Place Interpreter Guidebook
  • ADA

    Some limited restroom access for wheelchairs

    Wheelchair Accessible

    Parking

    Restrooms

    Services

    Gift Shop

    Online Gift Shop

    Special Event Rental

    Group Tours

    This information, including business hours, addresses and contact information is provided for general reference purposes only. No representation is made or warranty is given as to its content or the reliability thereof. User assumes all risk of use. Stories USA, Inc. and its content suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use. Please call ahead to verify the dates, the location and directions.
    THANK YOU 2022 SPONSORS!
    Los Angeles, California

    Picnic Design is a graphic and exhibition design studio founded in 2005. We specialize in work for museums, civic and cultural organizations, and educational institutions. Our capabilities include: exhibit design and development; design of newsletters, brochures, postcards, and other ephemera; book design; logos and brand materials; advertising campaigns; infographics; signage; and project management.

    MUSEUM CONFERENCES
    Saturday, March 5 - Tuesday, March 8, 2022 — Richmond, Virginia
    Virginia Association of Museums Annual Conference 2022
    Richmond, Virginia
    Sunday, March 6 - Thursday, March 10, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
    2022 Public Land Alliance Convention and Trade Show
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Wednesday, March 16 - Friday, March 18, 2022 — Kingsport, Tennessee
    Tennessee Association of Museums 2022 Annual Conference
    Kingsport, Tennessee
    Tuesday, March 22 - Friday, March 25, 2022 — Waco, Texas
    Texas Association of Museums 2022 - Growing Together: Tackling The Challenges Of Today & Tomorrow
    Waco, Texas
    Thursday, April 7 - Saturday, April 9, 2022 — Point Pleasant, West Virginia
    West Virginia Association of Museums 2022 Conference
    Point Pleasant, West Virginia
    Sunday, April 24 - Tuesday, April 26, 2022 — Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
    PA Museums’ 2022 Conference
    Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
    Sunday, May 15 - Saturday, May 28, 2022 — Statesboro, Georgia
    Center of Excellence Tick Workshop 2022
    Statesboro, Georgia
    Monday, May 16 - Wednesday, May 18, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
    InterActivity 2022: Play The Long Game -Association of Children's Museums
    St. Louis, Missouri
    Thursday, May 19 - Sunday, May 22, 2022 — Slinger, Wisconsin
    2022 Fire Museum Seminar
    Slinger, Wisconsin
    Sunday, June 19 - Wednesday, June 22, 2022 — Golden, Colorado
    2022 Country School Association of America Conference
    Golden, Colorado
    Thursday, June 23 - Tuesday, June 28, 2022 — Tacoma, Washington
    ALHFAM 2022 CONFERENCE & ANNUAL MEETING
    Tacoma, Washington
    Monday, August 1 - Friday, August 5, 2022 — Owings Mills, Maryland
    ASSOCIATION OF NATURE CENTER ADMINISTRATORS 2022 ANNUAL SUMMIT
    Owings Mills, Maryland
    Wednesday, September 14 - Friday, September 16, 2022 — Enid, Oklahoma
    2022 Oklahoma Museum Conference
    Enid, Oklahoma
    Wednesday, September 14 - Saturday, September 17, 2022 — Buffalo, New York
    American Association for State and Local History 2022 On-site and Virual Conferences
    Buffalo, New York
    Thursday, October 6 - Sunday, October 9, 2022 — Portland, Oregon
    2022 Oregon Annual Conference, co-hosted with Western Museums Association
    Portland, Oregon
    Monday, October 24 - Wednesday, October 26, 2022 — Rogers, Arkansas
    SouthEastern Museum Conference 2022 ANNUAL MEETING
    Rogers, Arkansas
    Tuesday, October 25 - Thursday, October 27, 2022 — Temecula, California
    2022 International Conference of Indigenous Archives, Libraries, and Museums
    Temecula, California