Last updated: 3/25/2009
Cartersville, Georgia
Street Address
100 Tellus Drive
Cartersville, GA 30120
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 3663
Cartersville, GA 30120
phone: 770-606-5700
web: www.tellusmuseum.org
Hours
Daily10 AM - 5 PM
Admissions
Admission (Includes Fossil Dig & Gem Panning)
Members - Free
Adults - $12
Children (3 - 17) - $8
Student with ID - $8
Active Military with ID - Free
Seniors (65+) - $10
Staff
Adam Wade, Development
phone: 770-606-5713
Jacque Hollis, Event Scheduling
phone: 770-606-5715
Joe Schulman, Marketing
phone: 770-606-5732
Shelly Redd, Membership
phone: 770-606-5716
Darlene Gunn, Scheduling
phone: 770-606-5699
Description

Tellus features four incredible galleries: the Weinman Mineral Gallery; Fossil Gallery; Science in Motion, a walk through the development of motorized transportation; and Collins Family My Big Backyard, a hands-on activity area for kids. Tellus also includes gem panning and fossil dig areas and a digital planetarium.

History

The Weinman Mineral Museum was a fantastic museum serving more than 30 counties during its nearly 25 years in operation. The newly expanded museum, now 120,000 square feet, reopened in 2009 as Tellus. In the first two months of operation more than 30,000 people visited Tellus.

Artifact Collections

The Museum houses approximately 5,000 objects including rocks,minerals,gems,fossils,and historical mining equipment and related photographs.

Research Collections

The Museum's education collection consists of rocks, minerals, and fossils used for research and hands-on educational purposes, as well as, a small topical library.

Educational Programs

We produce a quarterly magazine for our members and we have an e-newsletter sent out monthly. Visit our web site at www.tellusmuseum.org to subscribe to the newsletter.

Library

Access: General Public, Students, Scholars, Members

Appointment required: Yes

Publications

We produce a quarterly magazine for our members and we have an e-newsletter sent out monthly. Visit our web site at www.tellusmuseum.org to subscribe to the newsletter.

ADA

Wheelchair Accessible

This information, including business hours, addresses and contact information is provided for general reference purposes only. No representation is made or warranty is given as to its content or the reliability thereof. User assumes all risk of use. Stories USA, Inc. and its content suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use. Please call ahead to verify the dates, the location and directions.
THANK YOU 2022 SPONSORS!
Dallas, Texas

Johnny World Products is a family owned and operated business based in Cleveland, Ohio. We began operations in 2018 with a focus on bringing original design products to consumers who have the same daily problems as we do in our family. Since inception, every product that we sell has been our own design and has been exclusively manufactured by us. We are not “re-sellers”.

MUSEUM CONFERENCES
Saturday, March 5 - Tuesday, March 8, 2022 — Richmond, Virginia
Virginia Association of Museums Annual Conference 2022
Richmond, Virginia
Sunday, March 6 - Thursday, March 10, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
2022 Public Land Alliance Convention and Trade Show
St. Louis, Missouri
Wednesday, March 16 - Friday, March 18, 2022 — Kingsport, Tennessee
Tennessee Association of Museums 2022 Annual Conference
Kingsport, Tennessee
Tuesday, March 22 - Friday, March 25, 2022 — Waco, Texas
Texas Association of Museums 2022 - Growing Together: Tackling The Challenges Of Today & Tomorrow
Waco, Texas
Thursday, April 7 - Saturday, April 9, 2022 — Point Pleasant, West Virginia
West Virginia Association of Museums 2022 Conference
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Sunday, April 24 - Tuesday, April 26, 2022 — Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
PA Museums’ 2022 Conference
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Sunday, May 15 - Saturday, May 28, 2022 — Statesboro, Georgia
Center of Excellence Tick Workshop 2022
Statesboro, Georgia
Monday, May 16 - Wednesday, May 18, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
InterActivity 2022: Play The Long Game -Association of Children's Museums
St. Louis, Missouri
Thursday, May 19 - Sunday, May 22, 2022 — Slinger, Wisconsin
2022 Fire Museum Seminar
Slinger, Wisconsin
Sunday, June 19 - Wednesday, June 22, 2022 — Golden, Colorado
2022 Country School Association of America Conference
Golden, Colorado
Thursday, June 23 - Tuesday, June 28, 2022 — Tacoma, Washington
ALHFAM 2022 CONFERENCE & ANNUAL MEETING
Tacoma, Washington
Monday, August 1 - Friday, August 5, 2022 — Owings Mills, Maryland
ASSOCIATION OF NATURE CENTER ADMINISTRATORS 2022 ANNUAL SUMMIT
Owings Mills, Maryland
Wednesday, September 14 - Friday, September 16, 2022 — Enid, Oklahoma
2022 Oklahoma Museum Conference
Enid, Oklahoma
Wednesday, September 14 - Saturday, September 17, 2022 — Buffalo, New York
American Association for State and Local History 2022 On-site and Virual Conferences
Buffalo, New York
Thursday, October 6 - Sunday, October 9, 2022 — Portland, Oregon
2022 Oregon Annual Conference, co-hosted with Western Museums Association
Portland, Oregon
Monday, October 24 - Wednesday, October 26, 2022 — Rogers, Arkansas
SouthEastern Museum Conference 2022 ANNUAL MEETING
Rogers, Arkansas
Tuesday, October 25 - Thursday, October 27, 2022 — Temecula, California
2022 International Conference of Indigenous Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Temecula, California