Last updated: 11/29/2021
Ocala, Florida
Address
701 NE Sanchez Ave
Ocala, FL 34470
phone: 352-401-3900
fax: 352-401-3939
e-mail: discovery@ocalafl.org
web: www.mydiscoverycenter.org
Admissions
Memberships: $125.00 for a Friend, $50.00 for a Family, and $30.00 for an Adult. Includes discounts and reciprocal ASTC admission so you can visit any one of 250 other science or natural history museums/centers throughout the United States, Europe, and South America.
Services
Gift Shop
Staff
Kate Messenger, Manager
Description

The Discovery Center now occupies the "former" Tuscawilla Youth Center (Armory) building in downtown Tuscawilla Park in Ocala, Florida. This new and exciting change will be a part of the City's ReDiscover Tuscawilla Park Project, along with plans for the addition of pavilions, a new all-inclusive playground, connecting sidewalks and fishing platforms.

Welcome to the City of Ocala’s Discovery Center at Tuscawilla Park where exciting changes occur every day. We are open for programs and workshops but not currently for general exhibit visits.

The Discovery Center is pleased to announce that we are now showcasing Marion County Students’ artwork!. Our current exhibit includes artwork on loan from FAFO’s Permanent Student Art Collection. In December we will also be exhibiting artwork from Forest High School. New artwork will be displayed each month. Stop by and be inspired by these young artists’ creations!

Volunteers are an essential part of many successful organizations and the Discovery Center is no exception. As the Center continues to grow, so does our need for active enthusiastic ovlunteers of all ages. I’m sure you know an inquisitive person that would love to assist Sarah Damien in our numerous C.S.I. classes. This HOT topic allows us to stimulate “critical thinking skills” in our students. As our student gather evidence from recreated crime scenes, see the intricate details of finger prints, and work together to solve the crime — they are having fun while they learn. That’s the best of both worlds! Please keep us in mind as you’re talking to your friends and spread the word that we’re needing volunteers.

Governance

City of Ocala

Services

Gift Shop

This information, including business hours, addresses and contact information is provided for general reference purposes only. No representation is made or warranty is given as to its content or the reliability thereof. User assumes all risk of use. Stories USA, Inc. and its content suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use. Please call ahead to verify the dates, the location and directions.
THANK YOU 2022 SPONSORS!
West Grove, Pennsylvania

Creators of custom / personalized made-in-USA products for museum stores. Your products are unique and exclusive to your store. Free setup and design. Free samples. Interactive design tools available on our website for buyers to mock up ideas. Products include bookmarks, magnets, mugs, glass paperweights, coasters, mousepads, aprons, puzzles, postcards, holiday ornaments, rulers, t-shirts tote bags, more

MUSEUM CONFERENCES
Saturday, March 5 - Tuesday, March 8, 2022 — Richmond, Virginia
Virginia Association of Museums Annual Conference 2022
Richmond, Virginia
Sunday, March 6 - Thursday, March 10, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
2022 Public Land Alliance Convention and Trade Show
St. Louis, Missouri
Wednesday, March 16 - Friday, March 18, 2022 — Kingsport, Tennessee
Tennessee Association of Museums 2022 Annual Conference
Kingsport, Tennessee
Tuesday, March 22 - Friday, March 25, 2022 — Waco, Texas
Texas Association of Museums 2022 - Growing Together: Tackling The Challenges Of Today & Tomorrow
Waco, Texas
Thursday, April 7 - Saturday, April 9, 2022 — Point Pleasant, West Virginia
West Virginia Association of Museums 2022 Conference
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Sunday, April 24 - Tuesday, April 26, 2022 — Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
PA Museums’ 2022 Conference
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Sunday, May 15 - Saturday, May 28, 2022 — Statesboro, Georgia
Center of Excellence Tick Workshop 2022
Statesboro, Georgia
Monday, May 16 - Wednesday, May 18, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
InterActivity 2022: Play The Long Game -Association of Children's Museums
St. Louis, Missouri
Thursday, May 19 - Sunday, May 22, 2022 — Slinger, Wisconsin
2022 Fire Museum Seminar
Slinger, Wisconsin
Sunday, June 19 - Wednesday, June 22, 2022 — Golden, Colorado
2022 Country School Association of America Conference
Golden, Colorado
Thursday, June 23 - Tuesday, June 28, 2022 — Tacoma, Washington
ALHFAM 2022 CONFERENCE & ANNUAL MEETING
Tacoma, Washington
Monday, August 1 - Friday, August 5, 2022 — Owings Mills, Maryland
ASSOCIATION OF NATURE CENTER ADMINISTRATORS 2022 ANNUAL SUMMIT
Owings Mills, Maryland
Wednesday, September 14 - Friday, September 16, 2022 — Enid, Oklahoma
2022 Oklahoma Museum Conference
Enid, Oklahoma
Wednesday, September 14 - Saturday, September 17, 2022 — Buffalo, New York
American Association for State and Local History 2022 On-site and Virual Conferences
Buffalo, New York
Thursday, October 6 - Sunday, October 9, 2022 — Portland, Oregon
2022 Oregon Annual Conference, co-hosted with Western Museums Association
Portland, Oregon
Monday, October 24 - Wednesday, October 26, 2022 — Rogers, Arkansas
SouthEastern Museum Conference 2022 ANNUAL MEETING
Rogers, Arkansas
Tuesday, October 25 - Thursday, October 27, 2022 — Temecula, California
2022 International Conference of Indigenous Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Temecula, California