Last updated: 12/11/2010
301 South Main
Fort Stockton, TX 79735
301 South Main
Fort Stockton, TX 78735
June - August
Extended Summer Hours
September - May
|Monday - Saturday||9 AM - 6 PM|
|Monday - Saturday||9 AM - 5 PM|
Children $ 2.00
Seniors $ 2.50
Adults $ 3.00
Jennifer Justison, Director
One of the recreated hotel rooms contains an iron bed that Annie ordered from Sears and
Roebuck for $6.75, and shows what a guest would have encountered in 1905. In the kitchen
is the first electric stove in Fort Stockton, purchased by Annie in 1922. Other exhibit areas
are dedicated to archaeology, geology, religion, ranching, Hispanic heritage, pioneers, and
early businesses. In the courtyard sits and early 1900's buggy, and the East grounds offer a
view of our native Texas garden
The museum houses a gift shop with Texana and Western items and an excellent book
selection. The two volume Pecos County History books are still available on request.
The Annie Riggs Memorial Museum is open six days a week, and is located at the corner of Main and Callaghan (number 3 on the historical tour). Visitors can experience a thriving desert garden at the back of the museum, inviting benches on the wrap-around porches and an interior courtyard with a restored Pecos County buggy.
Founded in 1954, the goal of the Fort Stockton Historical Society is to preserve, restore, and utilize the historical past. In 1955, the fourteen heirs of Annie Riggs deeded the Riggs Hotel to the Society to be operated as a museum. Named in her honor, the Annie Riggs Memorial Museum opened in November of the same year.
Six local businessmen initiated construction of the building about 1900. It opened in 1901 as the Koehler Hotel. Annie Riggs purchased the hotel in 1904 and operated the hotel/boarding house until shortly before her death on May 17, 1931.
The Society also manages Historic Fort Stockton (1867-1886).
The museum features exhibits depicting the heritage and the development of Fort Stockton and its surrounding area. Fourteen rooms and two outside areas are utilized for exhibits. The parlor, lobby, dining room, and kitchen are filled with old photographs, collectibles, and furnishings. One of the hotel guest rooms shows what guests would have experienced in 1905. Other guest rooms are dedicated to archeology, geology, religion, ranching, early businesses and pioneers.
The sprawling, single-story, adobe building with its wrap-around verandas and gingerbread trim is a prime example of Territorial architecture. The walls are two feet thick and the ceilings are fourteen feet high.
Exhibitions, teacher workshops, docent program, gallery tours, lectures, public school
outreach; not available for loan/tour.
It is owned by the Fort Stockton Historical Society.
Access: General Public
Appointment required: Yes
Brochures; quarterly newsletters to membership beginning in 1996.
This information, including business hours, addresses and contact information is provided for general reference purposes only. No representation is made or warranty is given as to its content or the reliability thereof. User assumes all risk of use. Stories USA, Inc. and its content suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use. Please call ahead to verify the dates, the location and directions.