Last updated: 11/17/2021
Charleston, West Virginia
Street Address
Charleston, WV 25339
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 11527
Charleston, WV 25339
phone: 304-232-3087
e-mail: museumsofwv@gmail.com
web: www.museumsofwv.org
Museum Type(s)
Staff
Description

The principal meeting of WVAM members is the spring Annual Conference. Meetings are hosted by a member institution and are held in rotating areas of the State to accommodate members. A conference committee is responsible for arranging for national and local presenters who will cover topics such as: interpretation of sites, conservation of museum objects, administration of museums, and other topics of interest to the museum community.

We invite you to become a member of the West Virginia Association of Museums and join the growing number of professionals, volunteers, and others interested in the museums of the Mountain State.

The conference is usually two to three days long. Time is scheduled in the conference for tours of local museums and sites of interest. Networking is a vital part of the conference, as members have an opportunity to share ideas, problems, program ideas, and offer assistance to fellow members.

Exhibitions
Thursday, April 7 - Saturday, April 9, 2022
West Virginia Association of Museums 2022 Conference
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
The West Virginia Association of Museums annual meeting and conference will be held April 7-9, 2022 in Point Pleasant, West Virginia. ////// The theme of WVAM’s 2022 conference is “Building Bridges: Facilitating Conversations in our Communities.” Those who attend the conference will learn how institutional reflection and open dialog can create better engagement with diverse audiences and demonstrate a commitment to the communities they serve. ////// The conference will provide resources and tools for fostering environments in which more community members see themselves represented in museum collections and exhibits and feel comfortable interacting with a museum’s content and its interpretive framework. As a post COVID-19 world becomes more of a reality, it is important to ensure that visitors feel welcome at our institutions more than ever before. ​
For more information, please email museumsofwv@gmail.com.
This information, including business hours, addresses and contact information is provided for general reference purposes only. No representation is made or warranty is given as to its content or the reliability thereof. User assumes all risk of use. Stories USA, Inc. and its content suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use. Please call ahead to verify the dates, the location and directions.
THANK YOU 2021 SPONSORS!
Oakland Park, Florida

We are a design and fabrication shop that encourages play in museums, organizations and brands so they may spread the roots of their mission. Play is a powerful tool because it tests assumptions, makes connections and establishes a positive emotional memory to concepts. Incorporating play (interactives) in your project can actually boost diversity, loyalty and engagement which will ultimately strengthen your mission.

MUSEUM CONFERENCES
Saturday, March 5 - Tuesday, March 8, 2022 — Richmond, Virginia
Virginia Association of Museums Annual Conference 2022
Richmond, Virginia
Sunday, March 6 - Thursday, March 10, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
2022 Public Land Alliance Convention and Trade Show
St. Louis, Missouri
Wednesday, March 16 - Friday, March 18, 2022 — Kingsport, Tennessee
Tennessee Association of Museums 2022 Annual Conference
Kingsport, Tennessee
Tuesday, March 22 - Friday, March 25, 2022 — Waco, Texas
Texas Association of Museums 2022 - Growing Together: Tackling The Challenges Of Today & Tomorrow
Waco, Texas
Thursday, April 7 - Saturday, April 9, 2022 — Point Pleasant, West Virginia
West Virginia Association of Museums 2022 Conference
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Sunday, April 24 - Tuesday, April 26, 2022 — Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
PA Museums’ 2022 Conference
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Sunday, May 15 - Saturday, May 28, 2022 — Statesboro, Georgia
Center of Excellence Tick Workshop 2022
Statesboro, Georgia
Monday, May 16 - Wednesday, May 18, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
InterActivity 2022: Play The Long Game -Association of Children's Museums
St. Louis, Missouri
Thursday, May 19 - Sunday, May 22, 2022 — Slinger, Wisconsin
2022 Fire Museum Seminar
Slinger, Wisconsin
Sunday, June 19 - Wednesday, June 22, 2022 — Golden, Colorado
2022 Country School Association of America Conference
Golden, Colorado
Thursday, June 23 - Tuesday, June 28, 2022 — Tacoma, Washington
ALHFAM 2022 CONFERENCE & ANNUAL MEETING
Tacoma, Washington
Monday, August 1 - Friday, August 5, 2022 — Owings Mills, Maryland
ASSOCIATION OF NATURE CENTER ADMINISTRATORS 2022 ANNUAL SUMMIT
Owings Mills, Maryland
Wednesday, September 14 - Saturday, September 17, 2022 — Buffalo, New York
American Association for State and Local History 2022 On-site and Virual Conferences
Buffalo, New York