Last updated: 3/23/2011
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Street Address
780 University Blvd.
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
Mailing Address
MSC 3705
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
phone: 540-568-3194
fax: 540-568-5115
web: www.jmu.edu/arboretum
Hours
Arboretum grounds are open free to the public dusk to dawn 365 days per year.
Education Center and offices open 8:00 am to 5:00 pm weekdays and special events and programs.
Education Center and Business Offices: Monday - Friday, 8am to 5pm.

Grounds are open 365 days a year, dawn to dusk, free to the public.
Admissions
Admission is free to the public. Field trips, workshops, and some lecture programs on a cost basis. For more information visit the Arboretum website.
Services
Gift Shop
Special Event Rental
Staff
Gail L. Turnbull, Assistant Director
phone: 540-568-3194
Jan Sievers Mahon, Arboretum Director
phone: 540-568-4801
Description

The only arboretum and botanical gardens located on a Virginia state university. Beauty awaits visitors to botanical gardens found within the EJC Arboretum. Included in 16 exhibit gardens along over 3 miles of trails through 125 acres of mature Oak-Hickory Forrest, are rare and unusual, or geographically specific species protected at the arboretum. See a shale barren rich with white-haired feather flower, spike moss, hairy lipped fern, and shining sumac. Browse the bog garden. Stroll paths redolent in the bloom of spring bulbs, native azaleas including the rare pinxter flower and flame azalea. See a luxurious display of trailside wild phlox and Virginia bluebell. Breathe deeply while climbing the terraced herb garden. Pause over 30 varieties of heirloom roses, or in a wooded swale carpeted with New York, hay-scented, ostrich, marginal shield, and Christmas fern. Just a few of the many botanical gardens to see at the arboretum at JMU.

History

The EJC Arboretum celebrates its 25th year from groundbreaking in the spring of 2010. Plan your visit, and browse the arboretum website often to stay informed of the varying events and programs that will celebrate the arboretum quarter-century milestone.

Artifact Collections

Native plant and heirloom species are on exhibit throughout the arboretum and in specific botanical gardens.

Research Collections

Native plant, shrub and tree species are on exhibit throughout the 125 acre facility. Rare Betula Uber, Rount leaf birch is on display at the arboretum.

Educational Programs

The arboretum offers in season educational workshops, lectures, and guided tours and field trips ranging for early child education to university calibre adult level botanical education.

Library

Access: General Public, Students, Scholars, Members

Appointment required: No

Services

Gift Shop

Special Event Rental

This information, including business hours, addresses and contact information is provided for general reference purposes only. No representation is made or warranty is given as to its content or the reliability thereof. User assumes all risk of use. Stories USA, Inc. and its content suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use. Please call ahead to verify the dates, the location and directions.
THANK YOU 2022 SPONSORS!
West Grove, Pennsylvania

Creators of custom / personalized made-in-USA products for museum stores. Your products are unique and exclusive to your store. Free setup and design. Free samples. Interactive design tools available on our website for buyers to mock up ideas. Products include bookmarks, magnets, mugs, glass paperweights, coasters, mousepads, aprons, puzzles, postcards, holiday ornaments, rulers, t-shirts tote bags, more

MUSEUM CONFERENCES
Saturday, March 5 - Tuesday, March 8, 2022 — Richmond, Virginia
Virginia Association of Museums Annual Conference 2022
Richmond, Virginia
Sunday, March 6 - Thursday, March 10, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
2022 Public Land Alliance Convention and Trade Show
St. Louis, Missouri
Wednesday, March 16 - Friday, March 18, 2022 — Kingsport, Tennessee
Tennessee Association of Museums 2022 Annual Conference
Kingsport, Tennessee
Tuesday, March 22 - Friday, March 25, 2022 — Waco, Texas
Texas Association of Museums 2022 - Growing Together: Tackling The Challenges Of Today & Tomorrow
Waco, Texas
Thursday, April 7 - Saturday, April 9, 2022 — Point Pleasant, West Virginia
West Virginia Association of Museums 2022 Conference
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Sunday, April 24 - Tuesday, April 26, 2022 — Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
PA Museums’ 2022 Conference
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Sunday, May 15 - Saturday, May 28, 2022 — Statesboro, Georgia
Center of Excellence Tick Workshop 2022
Statesboro, Georgia
Monday, May 16 - Wednesday, May 18, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
InterActivity 2022: Play The Long Game -Association of Children's Museums
St. Louis, Missouri
Thursday, May 19 - Sunday, May 22, 2022 — Slinger, Wisconsin
2022 Fire Museum Seminar
Slinger, Wisconsin
Sunday, June 19 - Wednesday, June 22, 2022 — Golden, Colorado
2022 Country School Association of America Conference
Golden, Colorado
Thursday, June 23 - Tuesday, June 28, 2022 — Tacoma, Washington
ALHFAM 2022 CONFERENCE & ANNUAL MEETING
Tacoma, Washington
Monday, August 1 - Friday, August 5, 2022 — Owings Mills, Maryland
ASSOCIATION OF NATURE CENTER ADMINISTRATORS 2022 ANNUAL SUMMIT
Owings Mills, Maryland
Wednesday, September 14 - Friday, September 16, 2022 — Enid, Oklahoma
2022 Oklahoma Museum Conference
Enid, Oklahoma
Wednesday, September 14 - Saturday, September 17, 2022 — Buffalo, New York
American Association for State and Local History 2022 On-site and Virual Conferences
Buffalo, New York
Thursday, October 6 - Sunday, October 9, 2022 — Portland, Oregon
2022 Oregon Annual Conference, co-hosted with Western Museums Association
Portland, Oregon
Monday, October 24 - Wednesday, October 26, 2022 — Rogers, Arkansas
SouthEastern Museum Conference 2022 ANNUAL MEETING
Rogers, Arkansas
Tuesday, October 25 - Thursday, October 27, 2022 — Temecula, California
2022 International Conference of Indigenous Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Temecula, California