Last updated: 5/23/2011
Dungeness Recreation Area
Sequim, WA 98382
PO Box 1283
Sequim, WA 98382
The light station is open every day of the year, from 9am to 5pm. BUT; it is a 5.5 mile walk from the Dungeness Wildlife Refuge parking lot, ONE WAY!
Admission and tour is free. After all, you just walked 5 miles of sand to get there.
There is great drinking water, picnic tables and a public restroom at the site.
Rick DeWitt, Communications Committee Chair
The New Dungeness Lighthouse was the first lighthouse completed in Washington Territory. It has operated continuously providing navigational aids to ships plying the waters of the Strait of Juan de Fuca since its lard oil lamp was lit for the first time on 14 December 1857. Originally, there were two full-time Keepers who lived in the Lighthouse. In 1904 a dwelling for the Officer-in-Charge was constructed east of the Lighthouse. Today this dwelling is known as the Keeper's Quarters
In 1927, because of deterioration, possibly caused by the North Cascades earthquake that occurred in 1872, the 91-foot tower was reduced to its present 63 feet. A well drilled in 1930 provides excellent quality water. An armored marine cable laid across Dungeness Bay in 1934 brought electricity to the Light Station. In 1976, the light and fog signal were automated and the Station was manned by a single Keeper. In 1993, it was added to the National Register of Historic Places. Due to budget cuts, in 1994 the U.S. Coast Guard withdrew its last Keeper. Plans were made to board up the buildings.
Unattended light stations often experience general deterioration and vandalism. However, the New Dungeness Light Station Association was organized in 1994 with the mission of protecting and preserving the Station. It obtained a renewable license with the U.S. Coast Guard. The Association's goals state that "The New Dungeness Light Station will be the finest example of historic restoration, preservation and interpretation in the Nation".
Membership in the Association furthers the mission of preserving and restoring the site. Members have the unique opportunity to become Keepers and live the life of a Keeper for a week, being responsible for the operation of the Lighthouse in much the same isolation as Keepers of the Nineteenth Century. Each week, up to six volunteer Keepers who have paid a weekly fee, planned their meals and purchased their food are transported to the Station. During the week, they perform minor maintenance and repairs to the buildings and mow, trim and water the lawn. They serve as tour guides providing historical information to visitors who have hiked the 5 miles at low tide or arrived in kayaks. The tour includes a trip to the top of the tower to enjoy the panoramic view. Keepers have greeted approximately 80,000 visitors since 1994.
The Association has developed an Interpretive Center in the Lighthouse to inform visitors about the historic and present significance of the Light Station. Two rooms in the original Lighthouse that were used as a Sitting Room and an Office have been restored with furnishings appropriate for a 1930s timeframe. These rooms display a timeline of Keepers and as well as photos and artifacts relevant to life at the Station.
This information, including business hours, addresses and contact information is provided for general reference purposes only. No representation is made or warranty is given as to its content or the reliability thereof. User assumes all risk of use. Stories USA, Inc. and its content suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use. Please call ahead to verify the dates, the location and directions.