Last updated: 3/6/2012
Fort Huachuca, Arizona
Street Address
Boyd St and Grierson St.
Fort Huachuca, AZ 85613
Mailing Address
Commander, USAICoE&FH
ATTN: IMWE-HUA-PLT
Fort Huachuca, AZ 85613
Hours
Monday - Saturday9 AM - 4 PM
Closed Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year's Day.
Admissions
There is a suggested donation of $2 per person.
Services
Gift Shop
Group Tours
Staff
Katharine Schmidli, Director
phone: 520-533-4946
Description

There are two museums at Fort Huachuca housed in three separate buildings. All are within just a short walk from one another. The Fort Huachuca Museum takes up two buildings, its main museum (Bldg. 41401) and a spillover gallery called the Museum Annex (41305). It tells the story of the U.S. Army in the American Southwest. The second museum is the U.S. Army Intelligence Museum which takes for its theme the evolution of the intelligence art within the U.S. Army. It is in building 41411, just down the street from the Fort Huachuca Museum and its Annex.

It is not always necessary to plan a visit, since spontaneous trips are often just as much fun, but involving children in the planning process will increase their sense of anticipation. Talk about what they will see at the museum. Explain that it is about soldiers who were the first citizens of the United States to explore the Southwest and provide protection for the first Anglo settlers. Talk about the role of the U.S. Army as the arm of the government that defends the interests of all the citizens of the nation. Mention that a military community has existed at Fort Huachuca for over 100 years, and the people who lived here before have sacrificed to make life better for those who live here today. It is a chance to explain the concept of change and to teach children that, while we dress differently, use better tools, and enjoy more leisure time, we share with the people of earlier eras a sense of values. We share a belief in what is right or wrong for our nation, our community, our families, and ourselves. These common beliefs connect us to the people who have lived here before and enable us to build on what has gone before. Shared values give us a sense of continuity and allow us to admire the contributions of so many American heroes.

Library

Access: General Public

Appointment required: No

ADA

Wheelchair Accessible

Services

Gift Shop

Group Tours

This information, including business hours, addresses and contact information is provided for general reference purposes only. No representation is made or warranty is given as to its content or the reliability thereof. User assumes all risk of use. Stories USA, Inc. and its content suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use. Please call ahead to verify the dates, the location and directions.
THANK YOU 2021 SPONSORS!
Oakland Park, Florida

We are a design and fabrication shop that encourages play in museums, organizations and brands so they may spread the roots of their mission. Play is a powerful tool because it tests assumptions, makes connections and establishes a positive emotional memory to concepts. Incorporating play (interactives) in your project can actually boost diversity, loyalty and engagement which will ultimately strengthen your mission.

MUSEUM CONFERENCES
Saturday, March 5 - Tuesday, March 8, 2022 — Richmond, Virginia
Virginia Association of Museums Annual Conference 2022
Richmond, Virginia
Sunday, March 6 - Thursday, March 10, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
2022 Public Land Alliance Convention and Trade Show
St. Louis, Missouri
Wednesday, March 16 - Friday, March 18, 2022 — Kingsport, Tennessee
Tennessee Association of Museums 2022 Annual Conference
Kingsport, Tennessee
Tuesday, March 22 - Friday, March 25, 2022 — Waco, Texas
Texas Association of Museums 2022 - Growing Together: Tackling The Challenges Of Today & Tomorrow
Waco, Texas
Thursday, April 7 - Saturday, April 9, 2022 — Point Pleasant, West Virginia
West Virginia Association of Museums 2022 Conference
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Sunday, April 24 - Tuesday, April 26, 2022 — Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
PA Museums’ 2022 Conference
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Sunday, May 15 - Saturday, May 28, 2022 — Statesboro, Georgia
Center of Excellence Tick Workshop 2022
Statesboro, Georgia
Monday, May 16 - Wednesday, May 18, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
InterActivity 2022: Play The Long Game -Association of Children's Museums
St. Louis, Missouri
Thursday, May 19 - Sunday, May 22, 2022 — Slinger, Wisconsin
2022 Fire Museum Seminar
Slinger, Wisconsin
Sunday, June 19 - Wednesday, June 22, 2022 — Golden, Colorado
2022 Country School Association of America Conference
Golden, Colorado
Thursday, June 23 - Tuesday, June 28, 2022 — Tacoma, Washington
ALHFAM 2022 CONFERENCE & ANNUAL MEETING
Tacoma, Washington
Monday, August 1 - Friday, August 5, 2022 — Owings Mills, Maryland
ASSOCIATION OF NATURE CENTER ADMINISTRATORS 2022 ANNUAL SUMMIT
Owings Mills, Maryland
Wednesday, September 14 - Saturday, September 17, 2022 — Buffalo, New York
American Association for State and Local History 2022 On-site and Virual Conferences
Buffalo, New York