Last updated: 1/27/2017
2 Mergner Road
Corner of Route 5 and 67
Fort Johnson, NY 12070
PO Box 196
Fort Johnson, NY 12070
May 15 to October 15
Closed Major Holidays
|Wednesday - Saturday||10 AM - 4 PM|
|Sunday||1 PM - 5 PM|
last tour begins 30 minutes before closure.
Children under 12 Free
Delores Partyka, President
Scott Haefner, Site Manager
Historic house museum; the home of Sir William Johnson (1715-1774)the British Superintendent for Indian Affairs.
Old Fort Johnson is the 1749 limestone house built on the Mohawk River in colonial New York by William Johnson and fortified during the French & Indian Wars. Known by the local Mohawk as Warragh-i-ya-gey (Man of Big Business), Johnson became the British Superintendent of Indian Affairs and many Native America conferences were held on this site. King George II made Johnson a Baronet after his heroic victories in the Battles of Lake George & Fort Niagara
Today Old Fort Johnson is a museum and more. Here visitors can steep themselves in the social, cultural, military and industrial past of the Mohawk Valley. And though the Old Fort has been the setting for many historical books, no fiction could be as interesting as the real story of Old Fort Johnson, presented and preserved here for all to enjoy.
To preserve,exhibit and interpret the collections, structures and furnishings held by the MCHS at historic Old Fort Johnson and to provide for professional scholorship and historical programming on the culure and history of Montgomery County; with special emphasis on Sir William Johnson and his influence on the development of colonial upstate New York
The Montgomery County Historical Society was founded in 1905 to collect and preserve Mohawk Valley history. Since 1906 it has operated Old Fort Johnson as an historic house museum.
Furniture, textiles, millitary and agriculural items relating to the history of Montgomery County.
Limited books and orginal documents on the history of Montgomery County and Sir William Johnson.
In -house programs only: visit website for details.
Private not-for-profit corporation managed by a volunteer board of trustees.
MCHS is a non-profit organization established in 1905 to collect and preserve Mohawk Valley history for the enrichment of the public. Old Fort Johnson, the 18th century home of Sir William Johnson and the current home of the MCHS, houses period rooms, special long and short term exhibits as well as an excellent research library. Why is it important to preserve? Old Fort Johnson, its exhibits and the programs of MCHS represent an opportunity to use our historical resources to instruct and delight. Old Fort Johnson itself is a unique and irreplaceable historical asset that has been designated as a National Historical Landmark
Access: General Public
Appointment required: Yes
This information, including business hours, addresses and contact information is provided for general reference purposes only. No representation is made or warranty is given as to its content or the reliability thereof. User assumes all risk of use. Stories USA, Inc. and its content suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use. Please call ahead to verify the dates, the location and directions.