Last updated: 6/23/2011
Dorchester, Massachusetts
Street Address
195 Boston Street
Dorchester, MA 02125
Mailing Address
195 Boston Street
Boston, MA 02125
phone: 800-663-6063
fax: 617-265-7802
web: www.dorchesterhistoricalsociety.org
Admissions
Free
Staff
Earl Taylor, President
phone: 800-663-6063
Description

We work to preserve the cultural artifacts of Dorchester’s past to inspire the imaginations of future generations.The purpose of the Dorchester Historical Society, founded in 1843 and incorporated in 1891, is to collect, preserve, and disseminate knowledge of the history of that section of the City of Boston which was formerly the Town of Dorchester; to hold, and aid in the preservation of, historic buildings and sites in the area; to care for, and from time to time, exhibit such articles of historic or antiquarian interest as may come into its possession.

For many years the Society has been actively interested in preserving the traditions and records of Dorchester and its people, from the earliest settlement in 1630 to the present time. The Society maintains three properties: the seventeenth-century Blake House, the eighteenth-century Captain Lemuel Clap House, and the early-nineteenth-century William Clapp House, which is also its headquarters.

Each year regular meetings of the members are held with programs of historical interest, including the Annual Meeting in May. New members and guests are always welcome. To support this voluntary work you are cordially invited to become a member of the Dorchester Historical Society. For more information, send email to our president, Earl Taylor, at Ermmwwt@aol.com.

In addition, the Society has generally been looked upon as the natural custodian and repository of material pertaining to Dorchester’s past. Documents, records, pictures or other memorabilia relating to Dorchester which you may wish to entrust to its care are always appreciated. They will significantly benefit succeeding generations through a more accurate knowledge and better understanding of the lives and times of their predecessors — which is what any history is really all about.

Read our Summer 2007 newsletter or selected past newsletters.

And note that the Society’s Architectural Preservation Committee has recently assembled a list of the top ten endangered properties in Dorchester. Visit the committee's online group http://groups.yahoo.com/group/dhs_historic_preservation to take part in preserving Dorchester's architectural heritage. Most important, read about our recently approved grant and the help we need to save the Blake House.

For additional information about Dorchester’s history — its people, its architecture, its businesses, its institutions — visit The Dorchester Atheneum.

History

Founded in 1843 and incorporated in 1891.

Educational Programs

We have regular public presentations and opportunities for students to participate in activities such as archaeological exploration on the grounds of the Blake House, 1661, oldest in the city of Boston.

Governance

Board of Directors

Library

Access: General Public, Students, Scholars, Members

Appointment required: Yes

ADA

Wheelchair Accessible

This information, including business hours, addresses and contact information is provided for general reference purposes only. No representation is made or warranty is given as to its content or the reliability thereof. User assumes all risk of use. Stories USA, Inc. and its content suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use. Please call ahead to verify the dates, the location and directions.
THANK YOU 2022 SPONSORS!
West Grove, Pennsylvania

Creators of custom / personalized made-in-USA products for museum stores. Your products are unique and exclusive to your store. Free setup and design. Free samples. Interactive design tools available on our website for buyers to mock up ideas. Products include bookmarks, magnets, mugs, glass paperweights, coasters, mousepads, aprons, puzzles, postcards, holiday ornaments, rulers, t-shirts tote bags, more

MUSEUM CONFERENCES
Saturday, March 5 - Tuesday, March 8, 2022 — Richmond, Virginia
Virginia Association of Museums Annual Conference 2022
Richmond, Virginia
Sunday, March 6 - Thursday, March 10, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
2022 Public Land Alliance Convention and Trade Show
St. Louis, Missouri
Wednesday, March 16 - Friday, March 18, 2022 — Kingsport, Tennessee
Tennessee Association of Museums 2022 Annual Conference
Kingsport, Tennessee
Tuesday, March 22 - Friday, March 25, 2022 — Waco, Texas
Texas Association of Museums 2022 - Growing Together: Tackling The Challenges Of Today & Tomorrow
Waco, Texas
Thursday, April 7 - Saturday, April 9, 2022 — Point Pleasant, West Virginia
West Virginia Association of Museums 2022 Conference
Point Pleasant, West Virginia
Sunday, April 24 - Tuesday, April 26, 2022 — Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
PA Museums’ 2022 Conference
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Sunday, May 15 - Saturday, May 28, 2022 — Statesboro, Georgia
Center of Excellence Tick Workshop 2022
Statesboro, Georgia
Monday, May 16 - Wednesday, May 18, 2022 — St. Louis, Missouri
InterActivity 2022: Play The Long Game -Association of Children's Museums
St. Louis, Missouri
Thursday, May 19 - Sunday, May 22, 2022 — Slinger, Wisconsin
2022 Fire Museum Seminar
Slinger, Wisconsin
Sunday, June 19 - Wednesday, June 22, 2022 — Golden, Colorado
2022 Country School Association of America Conference
Golden, Colorado
Thursday, June 23 - Tuesday, June 28, 2022 — Tacoma, Washington
ALHFAM 2022 CONFERENCE & ANNUAL MEETING
Tacoma, Washington
Monday, August 1 - Friday, August 5, 2022 — Owings Mills, Maryland
ASSOCIATION OF NATURE CENTER ADMINISTRATORS 2022 ANNUAL SUMMIT
Owings Mills, Maryland
Wednesday, September 14 - Friday, September 16, 2022 — Enid, Oklahoma
2022 Oklahoma Museum Conference
Enid, Oklahoma
Wednesday, September 14 - Saturday, September 17, 2022 — Buffalo, New York
American Association for State and Local History 2022 On-site and Virual Conferences
Buffalo, New York
Thursday, October 6 - Sunday, October 9, 2022 — Portland, Oregon
2022 Oregon Annual Conference, co-hosted with Western Museums Association
Portland, Oregon
Monday, October 24 - Wednesday, October 26, 2022 — Rogers, Arkansas
SouthEastern Museum Conference 2022 ANNUAL MEETING
Rogers, Arkansas
Tuesday, October 25 - Thursday, October 27, 2022 — Temecula, California
2022 International Conference of Indigenous Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Temecula, California