The Museum is located in the Brownington Village Historic District, amidst 19th century homes and a church, surrounded by farmland.
Located in a quiet and picturesque Northeast Kingdom village, the museum includes six buildings on fifty five acres. Seemingly untouched by time, this hillside town is centered around a monumental stone dormitory, called Athenian Hall, built in 1834-36 by the Rev. Alexander Twilight, the nation’s first African-American college graduate and state legislator.
The stone house now houses 21 rooms of exhibits focusing on 19th century life in northern Vermont. The collection includes furniture, textiles, photographs, pottery, folk and fine art, and many of the tools and utensils of daily life. The exhibits continue in Twilight’s own house, two more historic houses and a traditional barn.
The elegant 1831 Federal mansion, the Samuel Read Hall House, is set in the rolling agricultural landscape of Brownington Village, a National Historic District. From every direction beautiful pastoral views enchant the eye. There are two parlors, a library, and an old fashioned kitchen, all with working fireplaces. The house also has a small code compliant kitchen, and a handicap access bathroom. The east side of the house has a bluestone terrace overlooking the museum grounds. Upstairs, a sitting room, bedroom and private bath are available for the bridal party to dress and relax with friends and family. The grounds are designed with a space adequate for a tent up to 100 feet long, a convenient place for a caterers’ tent, and parking.