Street Address
248 W. Main Street
Lebanon, VA 24266
Mailing Address
P. O. Box 247
Lebanon, VA 24266


Russell County was formed in 1786 out of Washington County. Formed out of Russell County in whole or in part were Buchanan, Dickenson, Lee, Scott, Tazewell, and Wise Counties. The Russell County Courthouse burned in 1872; the loss of one deed book and one marriage book are attributed to this fire. The Local History Room at the Lebanon Library has an extensive collection containing local history and authors as well as extensive genealogical material. There is also a small local history collection available at the Honaker Library. The information below may assist you in conducting genealogical research; you should also consult the library’s list of genealogy websites.