Address
8884 Saint Philips Rd SE
Winnabow, NC 28479
Hours
Tuesday - Saturday9 AM - 5 PM
Sunday - Mondayclosed
Services
Group Tours
Staff
Brenda Bryant, Site Manager

Description

A major pre-Revolutionary port on North Carolina's Cape Fear River, Brunswick was razed by British troops in 1776 and never rebuilt. During the Civil War, Fort Anderson was constructed atop the old village site, and served as part of the Cape Fear River defenses below Wilmington before the fall of the Confederacy. Colonial foundations dot the present-day tour trail, which crosses the earthworks of the Confederate fort.

The Visitors Center features a short introductory video on the history of Brunswick Town/Fort Anderson, as well as a stunning museum displaying archaeological artifacts from the site’s historical layers of history. The original 2nd National Confederate Flag that flew over Fort Anderson during the Civil War was purchased and is now on display.

Today as the visitor walks around the site, one will see the archaeological ruins of the foundations of the colonial kitchens, home sites and various outbuildings that once stood as a colonial port town. The shell of the colonial church, St. Philips, stands majestically among the old trees. The town was destroyed by the British during the Revolutionary War and was never rebuilt. Confederate earthworks were built on top of the ruined town in 1862 and left abandoned in 1865. Today, because it has been left untouched, Fort Anderson stands as one of the most pristine intact coastal fortifications in the United States.

Outdoor exhibits, dotted along the ADA walkway, help give the visitor an understanding of the colonial town and the Civil War-era fort, and allow total access to the entire tour trail.

Services

Guided tours are available to groups, but should be schedule in advance.

Group Tours