Street Address
30 Plant Street
Ogdensburg, NJ 07439
Mailing Address
Ogdensburg, NJ 07439
phone: 973-209-7212
fax: 973-209-8505
e-mail: info@sterlinghillminingmuseum.org
web: sterlinghillminingmuseum.org
Hours
Individual & Family Tours Sterling Hill offers one public tour daily for individuals and families. March-1st 1pm public tour weekend only. April- 1st starts 1pm tour 7 days a week until Oct 31st. Nov-Dec- are weekend 1pm tours only Closed Jan-Feb but will possibly open for large groups. Call for info.
Daily10 AM - 3:30 PM
Group Tours are by appointment and start at 10am: Sterling Hill Mine Tour & Museum offers educational group tours for school classes, scout groups, summer camps, vacation tour groups, etc.
Admissions
Tour Costs (as of 2011) $10 for adults, $9 for seniors, and $8.00 for children 12 and under. The Mine Run dump. conveniently located adjacent to the visitor parking lot, contains hundreds of tons of high-grade zinc ore from the depths of the Sterling Hill mine. Much of the ore is highly fluorescent, making this area a favorite of collectors. Also in this area is a separate, smaller dump containing diverse minerals and rocks from all over the world. A small brick building on the edge of the dump contains a scale and an ultraviolet lamp, so visitors can weigh their specimens and view them under shortwave ultraviolet light before deciding on purchasing them.
Museum Type(s)
Services
Gift Shop
Special Event Rental
Cafe/Restaurant
Group Tours
Staff
Mr. Richard P. Hauck, President
phone: 973-209-7212
Robert Hauck, Web Advertiser

Description

Most everything manmade has something to do with mining. At the Sterling Hill Mine Tour & Museum we'll show you just how it's done. From drilling and blasting to the processing of the ore. Right here in NJ is one of the worlds richest zinc ore deposits, the area boasts over 350 minerals, about 70 of which fluoresce. That's about 10% of the known minerals in the world right here in NJ. As well as the best fluorescent mineral deposit in the world. Come take a tour of a real underground mine and see for yourself the one and only fluorescent “Rainbow Room” and the world’s largest collection of world wide fluorescents anywhere on earth. You can collect fluorescent minerals yourself 7 days a week when the museum is open.

Mission

The Sterling Hill Mine Tour & Museum is a nonprofit foundation dedicated to the preservation, interpretation, understanding, and appreciation of the history of mining, mining technology, mineralogy, and geology unique to the State of New Jersey through scientific research and educational programs.

History

Visitors to the Sterling Hill Mine Tour & Museum step back in time as they enter the grounds of this former industrial site. The museum exhibits, offices, and other facilities are housed in the original buildings used by the New Jersey Zinc Company when the mine was operational. Most of the on-site structures date from two major periods of construction, the first from 1914 to about 1930, and the second from 1954 to 1957. Several of these buildings, as well as the underground zinc mine itself, are featured parts of our public tours. Additional buildings, not yet open to the public, are slated to become part of the museum at some time in the future. The Sterling Hill Mine Tour & Museum is the only place in New Jersey where members of the public can tour a large underground mine and see for themselves how mining was done at one of the world's most famous mineral localities.The Sterling Hill zinc mine, which closed in 1986 and the site purchased in 1989 by Richard and Robert Hauck. Long interested in the mining industry, the Hauck brothers set out to preserve the legacy of Sterling Hill and make the site accessible to the public as a mining museum. The Sterling Hill Mine Tour & Museum opened for tours on August 4, 1990 and is now visited by more than 40,000 people annually.

Facilities

Lecture Halls

ADA

Wheelchair Accessible

Services

Gift Shop

Special Event Rental

Restaurant

Group Tours