Street Address
2522 Grand Avenue
Parkersburg, WV 26101
Mailing Address
2522 Grand Avenue
Parkersburg, WV 26101
phone: 304-485-7047
Hours
Memorial Day to Labor Day
Open to the public every Sunday.
Sunday1:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Museum Type(s)
Staff
Caroline W. Hawkinberry

Description

Believed to have been constructed about 1805 by Henry Cooper, one of the first settlers of Wood County, this two-story log house was originally located on Elizabeth Pike at Mineral Wells about nine miles from Parkersburg. It was situated on a several hundred-acre plot of ground. In 1910 it was dismantled and moved to the City Park to serve as part of the city's centennial observance that year of its incorporation as a town and its renaming as "Parkersburg." In 1911 the house became the headquarters and museum of the Centennial Chapter of the Daughters of the American Pioneers which organized in 1899 is Wood County's oldest surviving historical organization. The DAP is a ladies' national historic preservation group which at its peak in the 1930s consisted of nine chapters in West Virginia, Pennsylvania, Ohio and California. It exhibits a fascinating assortment of artifacts dating from the 1700s to the 1900s including furniture, clothing, photographs, one of the United States' largest button collections and wood from a tree planted by Johnny Appleseed.

History

The cabin was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.