Street Address
691 North Main Street
Piru, CA 93040
Mailing Address
P.O. Box 378
Piru, CA 93040
phone: 805-521-0700
fax: 805-521-0559
e-mail: info@ranchotemescal.com
web: www.ranchotemescal.com
Museum Type(s)
Staff

Description

Looking for a unique, outdoor venue for an equestrian center competition, horse or dog show? Sponsoring a rodeo and need an arena? Searching for an outdoor concert stage or that perfect corporate team-building site? Want a location for a championship chili cook-off or maybe a poetry reading? Rancho Temescal's Event Center features a terraced grass "bleacher" seating area with a panoramic view of 2 perfectly manicured arenas. Stadium lighting allows for spectacular evening events, and there is ample parking for automobiles and trailers alike.

History

Rancho Temescal was founded September 13th, 1871 and was purchased from the Del Valle Brothers in 1887 by David C. Cook, founder of the present town of Piru. He was born in New York State in 1850, son of a Methodist Minister. Mr. Cook became one of the era's largest publisher of books, pamphlets and papers.
According to the Ventura Free Press, by the end of 1899, Mr. Cook had planted over 1,200 acres with trees including: apricots, olives, oranges, peaches, lemons, apples, pears and nectarines. The land was irrigated by an extensive system of pipelines, flumes and canals. The Ranch also included 300 acres of alfalfa. Known as the Piru Fruit Rancho, it became famous for its large shipments of the finest fruits.
In the early 1900's, Rancho Temescal became a focus for petroleum development. The Ranch was owned by numerous production companies in this century including Pacific Western, Getty and Texaco. During this era, Rancho Temescal became home to over 1000 head of cattle, as tree production was abandoned.