515 N. 4th St.
Fulton, IL 61252
April 15 thru Dec. 15
Weather Permitting
Daily9 AM - 5 PM
Self-guided walking tours marked by numbered yellow arrows on brick paths will guide you through a pleasant experience.
Donations only, except on specials days when a $2.00 admission for adults and children over 14 is requested. All donations are used for improvement of this park.
Robert Olesen, Publicity Chair
phone: 815-589-4600
Brian Tomman, Caretaker
phone: 815-589-4600


Heritage Canyon is a 12-acre wooded structure nature walk dotted with buildings that take the visitor back to the 1800's.

Mid-1800's - 1954: It was a limestone quarry where rock was crushed for field fertilizer, road beds, wing dams and levees. Trucks, trains and river barges hauled it away.

1954 - 1967: The quarry was abandoned in 1954 because dynamiting was damaging both sides of the river. The area became an eyesore to the community with its junk and dilapidated shacks.

1967 - 1999: In 1967, Harold and Thelma Wierenga bought the quarry. They converted the machine shop into a usable workshop and then built their home on the site of the old rock crusher. They changed the quarry, keeping two goals in mind: preserve Midwestern history, emphasizing detail and authenticity; and disturb nature as little as possible as each building is added.

The church in the Canyon is available for small weddings. The church seats up to 25 people. Cost to rent the church is $185 (includes a $50 refundable deposit). Please call the caretaker for details and availability - 815-589-4600.


Early American Crafters Association


Wheelchair Accessible