Street Address
231 SW 2nd Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Mailing Address
219 SW 2nd Avenue,
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Hours of Operation
Guided tours at 1:00, 2:00, and 3:00 each day
Monday - Friday12 PM - 4 PM
Sunday, Saturday9:30 AM - 4 PM

Adults $15
Seniors $12
Students (with ID) $7
Members and Children under 6 free
Includes Main Museum exhibits & guided tour of Pioneer House and Schoolhouse Museums

Adults $10
Seniors $7
Students (with ID) $5
Members and Children under 6 free
Includes Main Museum exhibits & guided tour of Pioneer House and Schoolhouse Museums

Adults: $15
Seniors: $12
Members: free
Children under 6: Free
Gift Shop
Patricia Zeiler, Executive Director
phone: 954-463-4431 x100
Rodney Dillon, Supervising Curator
phone: 954-463-4431 x104
Tara Chadwick, Curator of Exhibitions
phone: 954-463-4431 x103
Barbara Poleo, Poleo, Historian & Collections Management
phone: 954-463-4431 x104
Sheila Brew, Preparator
phone: 954-463-4431 x104
Margaret Miller, MLS, Librarian
phone: 954-463-4431
Kamal Khan, Operations Director
phone: 954-463-4431 x105
Ellery Andrews, Deputy Director


Explore the Historic heart of Fort Lauderdale

The story of the New River is as old as the Everglades. It was home to the Tequesta People from prehistoric time. Later is was a refuge for the Seminole People. Even though it was claimed by Ponce De Leon for his King in 1513, it remained virtually untouched by the modern world until the late 1800s. Fort Lauderdale Historical Society operates 3 museums and a research library on the banks of the New River. Its campus features an open-air museum that demonstrates the best remaining examples of wood and masonry vernacular tropical architecture. Its Main, Pioneer House and Schoolhouse Museums explore the development of South Florida from virgin land to the present. Exhibits include Archaeology, Seminole Culture, New River Development, Flagler’s Railroad, WWI & WWII Military History, Fashion and Visual Art.


Fort Lauderdale Historical Society brings the stories of our diverse community to life through educational experiences, cultural exhibits, research, and preservation for future generations.


The Bryan family arrived on the New River in 1895. Henry Flagler had sent Philemon and his son Tom to oversee the construction of his rail bed from Pompano Beach to the New River. The Bryans and their team of 400 workers accomplished rail bed completion in a few short months despite the difficult terrain and living conditions. Mr. Flagler’s train pulled in to the Fort Lauderdale station for the first time in February 1896. The Bryans decided to stay and operate the Railroad boarding house which later became today’s New River Inn. In addition to operating the first tourist hotel, they branched out into farming, citrus groves, dredging, construction, first ice house, first electric company, first telephone exchange, and first radio station. Tom and Reed, Philemon’s sons, held elected offices, organized the board of trade, and were instrumental is negotiating the creation of the new Broward County is 1915. The Bryan family is one of many to meet at History Fort Lauderdale, where the river meets the railroad.


Private Non-Profit


Hoch Heritage Center is open to the public.

Research sources are available at the Hoch Heritage Center. Over 250 images of South Florida are avaiable for sale. A speakers' bureau is available for community groups' events.

Access: General Public

Appointment required: No


Wedding Venue

This is a lovely spot on the New River for weddings and events.

Gift Shop