501 3rd St.
Chewelah, WA 99109
P. O. Box 271
Chewelah, WA 99109
May thru Oct
Starting last weekend in May
or you may call Barbara at 509 935 6188
Barbara Swanson, Curator
Kathy Schnieder, Staff
A single room of interesting artifacts, displayed at the Chewelah Fun Fair in the summer of 1965 was the beginning of the present spacious museum. The exhibit drew so much interest it was decided to add to it the following year and the idea mushroomed. Walt Goodman and his niece, Dorothy, both interested in local history and historical artifacts, they pooled their ideas to create what became the present museum. From the modest one room start, the building was soon filled with many local items of interest. The people of Chewelah and surrounding areas were cooperative and generous. Many have given valuable family collections to provide interesting and unique items to the display for the public to enjoy. Each year the museum grows. New (old) items are constantly being received and placed on display. Old pictures of the area or persons from the area are always welcome and will be shown in the picture from, which in itself tells a lstory of Chewelah history.
Preserve these articles so others can see what our ancestors have seen.
1838 when the Cree Indians were here. 1903 when we became the town of Chewelah. 1916 when the Magnisite started.
How people lived from the beginning of this valley
A concrete building built by the government for an Amory.
Chewelah Historical Society
Access: General Public, Students
Appointment required: No
This information, including business hours, addresses and contact information is provided for general reference purposes only. No representation is made or warranty is given as to its content or the reliability thereof. User assumes all risk of use. Stories USA, Inc. and its content suppliers assume no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use. Please call ahead to verify the dates, the location and directions.