Street Address
825 NE Ocean Blvd.
Stuart, FL 34996
Mailing Address
825 NE Ocean Blvd.
Stuart, FL 34996
phone: 772-225-1961
fax: 772-225-2333
Elliott Museum and House of Refuge
Daily10 AM - 5 PM
Closed Easter Sunday, Fourth of July, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and New Year's Day.
Adults: $14
Seniors (over 65): $12
Military: $12
Members: free
Children (6-12): $6
Children under 6 free
Combo Ticket Elliott and House of Refuge: $18
AAA or AARP: $13
Gift Shop
Special Event Rental
Group Tours
Jennifer Esler, President and CEO
Amy Martin, Director of Finance
phone: 772-225-1961 x103
Lavaine Wrigley, Collections Manager and Registrar
phone: 772-225-1961 x108
Mccormick James, Keeper, House of Refuge
phone: 772-225-1875
Smith Amie, Front Desk and Membership
phone: 772-225-1961
Simbritz Al, Education and Tour Coordinator
phone: 772-225-1961
Mangan Kelly, Finance Assistant
phone: 772-225-1961
Gilbert Don, Assoc. Car Curator
phone: 772-225-1961
Giltinan John, Assoc. Car Curator
phone: 772-225-1961
Makowski Robin, Art Studio and Exhibit Coordinator
phone: 772-225-1961
Butcher Colleen, Special Events Coordinator
phone: 772-225-1961
Lund Wendy, Museum Store Manager
phone: 772-225-1961


The Elliott Museum and the House of Refuge

This general museum features a variety of exhibits which focus on three areas--art, history and technology. The highlight of the permanent exhibitions is the auto gallery which features a unique robotic display with over fifty vehicles. The robot retrieves vehicles upon request and brings them to a display turn table for examination. Visitors can also see vintage vehicles on the floor of the gallery, including a Springfield, Massachusetts-made Rolls Royce, a 1930 school bus into which you can climb, and an exhibition of three differently-powered early cars. Other exhibitions include a Foucault Pendulum, an exhibition of early bicycles and inventor Sterling Elliott, and Evinrude outboard motors. There are also exhibits about actress Frances Langford, vintage stores, local history, boat models, and a Baseball gallery featuring over 700 signed baseball cards, bats, and baseballs. The Museum also operates an active art studio where people take classes in everything from digital photography to sculpture. The Museum offers an impressive slate of changing exhibitions in its 3,000 square foot exhibition gallery. Recent exhibitions have included "Leonardo da Vinci's Machines in Motion," and "The Art of Seating: 200 Years of American Design."


The mission of the Elliott Museum is to inspire creativity through exhibitions and programs about art, history, and technology for people living in and visiting the Treasure Coast.


The Historical Society of Martin County was formed in the mid-1950s to preserve and interpret the House of Refuge on Hutchinson Island, the last remaining house of its kind still standing. Soon after, Harmon Elliott donated funds to build a Museum to house the Society's offices and to feature exhibitions about his father's inventions. Together, father and son held 222 patents. Among the inventions attributed to Sterling are the pneumatic tire, what we now know as rack and pinion steering, the paper cup, addressing machines and the women's bicycle. He also purchased store fronts from New England to present in the Museum that he was creating. Over the years the community began to use the Museum as a provider of changing exhibitions and also art classes. Also, important local history materials were donated to the Museum. With these avenues of service opening up, the Museum expanded its mission and vision. After several hurricanes damaged the 1961 facility, and with the gift of a significant collection of vintage automobiles, the Board of Directors embarked on a new building campaign. In 2009, the old building was torn down, and a new 49,000 square foot facility was designed. The new facility opened in 2013.


Historical Society of M C


Access: General Public

Appointment required: Yes


Wheelchair Accessible




Gift Shop

Special Event Rental

Group Tours