Street Address
301 SE MacArthur Blvd.
Hutchinson Island
Stuart, FL 34996
Mailing Address
301 SE MacArthur Blvd.
Stuart, FL 34996
phone: 772-225-1875
fax: 772-225-2333
e-mail: info@elliottmuseumfl.org
web: www.houseofrefugefl.org
Hours
House of Refuge at Gilbert's Bar
Closed Easter Sunday, Fourth of July, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Year's Day.
Monday - Saturday10 AM - 4 PM
Sunday1 PM - 4 PM
Available as a rental venue for special events.
Admissions
Adults $6 Children $3 (5-12 years) Children under 5 years of age are admitted free.
Services
Gift Shop
Staff
Jennifer Esler, Museum Director

Description

One of ten Houses of Refuge built by the U.S. Treasury Department in 1876, this is the only one that remains. Today it stands as a museum celebrating early peoples, life saving efforts, shipwrecks and military service. Re-creation of rooms depicting life at the House around the turn of the century. Exhibits of Ais Indians, shipwrecks and military servive are also displayed.Tours are available as are self-guided tours through the use of interpretive panels. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Mission

The mission of the House of Refuge Museum at Gilbert’s Bar is to educate the public about the historical significance of this landmark and its environs.

History

One of ten Houses of Refuge built by the U.S. Treasury Department in 1876, this is the only one that remains. Originally built to save shipwrecked sailors, the House of Refuge at Gilbert's Bar went on to enjoy a rich history. Once combined with the Life Saving Service, this House became one of the earliest U.S. Coast Guard installations. During World War II, the U.S. Navy built a tower as a lookout for German U-Boats along Florida's Coast. It was decommissioned after the war. In 1955, Martin County purchased the House and the land.

Governance

Historical Society

Services

Gift Shop